Beach Music

I am here. 

At the cerulean precipice

The edge of the world 

The abyss and the zenith–

And where are you?

I close my eyes

And the waves whisper

“Here,”

And I know I’m not supposed to look. 

The veil is fickle in that way;

Only you can cross,

And only when my mind

Does not belong to me.

Only when it traces

Remembrances from other times

Only then can you cross. 

You forget words, though. 

You don’t need them where you are. 

Where you are IS. 

I searched for you here in everyone

I placed you where I shouldn’t 

And now I am here at the edge. 

Wave after wave trembles to the shore,

Bitter shells cling to my feet,

And for a moment I think I’ve lost my way–

But I dare not look. 

I am here. 

At the cerulean precipice 

The edge of the world

The abyss and the zenith–

Where are you?

Perhaps you are at the veil

Just beyond my reach. 

Perhaps this is you, when I move too close–

Close enough to cross over–

Perhaps you are the pull

Beckoning me back again.

Perhaps it is your voice

Whispering lost words

Above the screams of the waves:

“I am here,” you say. 

“Wait.”

Leave a Reply

