Precipice

Light?
Light.
Out there in the dark
unknowable deep
Luminescence. Dim
And unsteady, but
Present.
Tattered torn nothing
Crumbles behind
Jagged rocks reach up
Like death below.
Ground beneath stills
And settles.
I could wait.
The ground bubbles
But does not move again
Perhaps it won’t.
Darkness deepens here,
And I could grin
And bear it.
The ground rips apart
And I am everywhere
Hanging over the precipice
With a vine, a lifeline.
I could pull myself over
And settle on the ruins.
In the corner, beyond the precipice
Light. Dim.
Unsteady.
But present.
I release what is
And reach
And reach
And reach
For what could be.

Leave a Reply

