between strangers on a train: fairy tale (first draft)

Once upon a time…
There lived long ago…
Now. I live now. The breath that fills my lungs is mine, but once was a part of someone else.
Once was a part of you.
A small consolation…when you are gone, when your eyes slide over me forgetting,
(Because we are strangers)
When there exists no happily ever after for those who have never met,
I hold the breath tight in my lungs until they ache.
I release it in a sigh.
An unspoken prayer.
I hope it reaches you again.

Tomorrow. We will have the train again. We will have tomorrow.

Once upon a time you had not met me yet.

The End.
That’s all there is.

Leave a Reply

